Four stadiums have been cut from the UK and Ireland’s list of venues submitted to football governing body UEFA to host Euro 2028.

The four stadiums to miss out are: Old Trafford (cap. 74,310) in Manchester; Stadium of Light (48,707) in Sunderland; London Stadium (66,000) and Dublin’s Croke Park (82,300).

The final shortlist now consists of 10 stadiums, with Wembley Stadium (90,000) the main venue. The list also includes Principality Stadium (73,952), Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (62,322), Etihad Stadium (61,000), Everton Stadium (52,679), St James’ Park (52,305), Villa Park (52,190), Hampden Park (52,032), Aviva Stadium (51,711) and Casement Park (34,500).

The bid was submitted by the four UK national football associations (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales) and the Football Association of Ireland. The bid is being challenged by Turkey, with UEFA set to make the decision in September as to who will host Euro 2028 and Euro 2032.

FA chair Debbie Hewitt, who is also chair of the UK and Ireland bid, said, “Our pioneering five-way partnership will deliver a record-breaking and unforgettable UEFA Euro. We will work together tirelessly to be the best partners for UEFA and to deliver on every one of our shared priorities.

“We will focus on growing football, connecting with and engaging new fans, players and volunteers. We continue to invest £50million annually into grassroots football development across our five associations.

“Together, we want UEFA Euro 2028 to be the catalyst for a new and sustainable era for football, from the grassroots to the very top of the European game.”