Presented in association with Yourope and Eurosonic Noorderslag, the European Festival Awards will return on 13 January to celebrate the successes of Europe’s music festival industry over the past year.

The gala award show will once again open Eurosonic Noorderslag at De Oosterpoort in Groningen, The Netherlands.

Entries for the awards are now open and will run until 11 October, during which time festivals can nominate themselves for consideration across a wide array of categories, which include Best Major Festival, Artists’ Favourite Festival, Headliner Of The Year, the Health & Safety Innovation Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Decided by a combination of public vote and industry juries, the European Festival Awards are the only pan-European body solely dedicated to recognising the contributions and achievements of the event organisers and performing artists that generate billions of euros for local economies and brighten up the summer for tens of millions of festivalgoers each year.

Last year’s European Festival Awards featured over 350 festivals from 35 different countries, with more than 1.2 million votes cast.

“We are already looking forward to the return of The European Festivals Awards at Eurosonic Noorderslag 2016, our 30th birthday,” said Ruud Berends, conference coordinator for Eurosonic Nooderslag. “We are very proud and grateful that so many international festivals see our event as their home to check out what’s next when it come to discovering new European talent and to discuss, network and party with the European music industry.”

Christof Huber, Chairman of Yourope said: “It’s been a very busy festival summer 2015 and we are looking forward to gather in Groningen to celebrate some of the best festivals and achievements in a friendly atmosphere.”

Public voting in this year’s Awards will run from 15 October and will close on 12 November. The final shortlists will be announced shortly thereafter, with the winners revealed at the show on 13 January.