Denmark’s Roskilde Festival was among the big winners at last night’s, 18 January, European Festival Awards, with the event’s team picking up The Impossible without Youth award, Best Major Festival and Lifetime Achievement awards. The festival celebrated its 50th anniversary last year with a 130,000-capacity edition.

The Awards’ 12th edition, which took place during ESNS at De Oosterpoort in Groningen, involved 16 categories. Organised by European festival association YOUROPE and ESNS, the event saw festivals from more than 30 countries participate, with 300,000 votes cast by the public.

The Winners:

The Take a Stand Award
Presented by: Take A Stand
Atlas Festival & Music Saves UA (Ukraine)
Best New Festival
Presented by: eps
Superbloom (Germany)
The Impossible without Youth Award
Presented by: YOUROPE & EFA (European Festivals Association) in connection with 3F – Future-Fit Festivals
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)
Best Indoor Festival
Iceland Airwaves (Iceland)
Line-Up of the Year
Presented by: IQ Magazine
Hellfest (France)
The Health & Safety Innovation Award
Presented by: YES Group
Watt en Schlick Fest (Germany)
Agent of the Year
Josh Javor (X-Ray Touring)
Best Small Festival
Roadburn (The Netherlands)
Newcomer of the Year
Presented by: ESNS
Fred Again (United Kingdom)

The Brand Activation Award
Presented by: EMAC
Wacken Open Air (Germany) & Krombacher

Best Medium-Sized Festival
Best Kept Secret (The Netherlands)
The Green Operations Award
Presented by: Go Group
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Best Major Festival
Presented by: See Tickets
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)
The Award for Excellence & Passion
Holger Jan Schmidt
Promoter of the Year
Mojo (The Netherlands)
The Lifetime Achievement Award
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)