The European Arenas Association have elected John Langford, the chief operating officer at AEG Europe, as their new president of the associating. The election occurred during the groups’ most recent general meeting, which was held in Barcelona.

Langford will now be in charge of the board which contains: Adrian Doyle, SSE Arena Belfast, Ireland; Girts Krastins, Arena Riga, Lativia; Jorge Silva, Altice Arena, Portugal; Lotta Nibbell, Scandinavium, Sweden; and Olivier Toth, Rockhal, Luxemborg.

The European Arenas Association includes 35 Arena members which span 22 European countries. In 2018 the members within the European Arenas Association saw over 19.8m customers attending 2,933 events held at their venues. The aim of the association is to share knowledge between the members, and to create best practice amongst the industry.

Langford said of his appointment as president: “I am honoured to represent thirty-five of the leading European indoor arenas during this incredibly dynamic time in the live event sector. Exciting changes in technology, the opportunity to make a positive impact through sustainability initiatives and participating in the wider European conversations that impact our members and audiences are just a few of the areas where we are making a difference.”